Resources for Gender Series

This is a list of just some of the sources that have really helped me during my journey. I hope you find them helpful, as well. Some are primarily egalitarian, some address how to approach and interpret scripture (hermeneutics), but really, all of them are both.

BOOKS

  1. The first book I’d like to recommend is probably the one that had the most influence on me personally. It’s not written by a scholar per se, but by an elder of a church in my denomination. His name is Jay Guin, and his book is available for FREE in PDF form on his blog (pretty cool, huh?). The name of the book is Buried Talentsand it’s one that I pass along to anyone who asks me for an easy-to-understand introduction to egalitarianism.
  2. Another great resource is a newly-published book by Dr. John Stackhouse entitled Partners in Christ: A Conservative Case for Egalitarianism. This is an updated version of his previous work Finally Feminist. 
  3. Scot McKnight’s Blue Parakeet: Rethinking How You Read the Bible is primarily about hermeneutics, as its subtitle suggests. The cool bonus is that McKnight uses the role of women as his case study.
  4. Respected theologian Gordon D. Fee’s Discovering Biblical Equality: Complementarity Without Hierarchy.  Fee is actually a contributing editor to this book, a collection of scholarly articles from 26 distinguished authors. This is probably not one you would want to read right off the bat, but it is an excellent egalitarian resource.
  5. I Permit Not a Woman: To Remain Shackled  by Robert H. Rowland is different from the others in that it is not entirely egalitarian. I would file it under the soft-complementarian category. It is written specifically to people in my particular denomination to point out the many inconsistencies in our practices regarding the role of women, but I think anybody from fundamentalist backgrounds could identify. Even though Rowland doesn’t argue for all-out egalitarianism, his work was an essential stepping stone in my realization that our arguments and practices regarding women in the church were untenable. Oh and it’s FREE online!
  6. Why Not Women: A Biblical Study of Women in Missions, Ministry, and Leadership by Loren Cunningham, David Joel Hamilton, and Janice Rogers.

ORGANIZATIONS, WEBSITES, BLOGS, BLOG POSTS

  1. Christians for Biblical Equality (CBE International). 
  2. The Junia Project
  3.  Kristen Rosser’s blog
  4. Why I Can’t Be a Complementarian — a recent blog post that expresses my thoughts completely.
  5. Mark Love’s series on gender — this one was crucial in my understanding of seeing scripture through the lens of the big picture.
  6. gal328 — Gender Justice and Churches of Christ
  7. Where the Spirit Leads

 

I could go on and on, really, but these have been the most formative for me, and I hope they will be invaluable to you as well. I would love your feedback if you decide to actually click and tackle some of these ideas head-on!

Leave a Reply

